The Island Guardian
Locally Owned & Operated
- -
(360) 378-8243 - 305 Blair Avenue, Friday Harbor, WA 98250
The Island Guardian is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists
xx Home | News | Business | Environment | Lifestyles | Entertainment | Columnists | Archives | Classifieds | Nag
Current news
Government News
Political News
Service Organizations
Guest Editorials
Real Estate
Weekly Nag
Weekly Nag
Letters to Editor
Letters to Editor
To Contact the Editor

Home » Archives » December 2010 » Ranker To Chair NRMWC

[Previous entry: "Meister-Montgomery Announcement"] [Next entry: "CAPR Dinner & Speaker"]

12/07/2010: "Ranker To Chair NRMWC"

Sen. Kevin Ranker (D-San Juan) has been elected by majority Democrats to chair the recently rechristened Natural Resources and Marine Waters Committee, and to serve as assistant whip for the Democratic Caucus in the state Senate.

Ranker served as the committee’s vice chair last year when it was named the Natural Resources, Ocean & Recreation Committee. The committee has been renamed to reflect the expanded focus to include all marine waters and shoreline issues, including the Puget Sound, in addition to all of the historic duties such as natural resources, fisheries and timber.

“The issues being discussed by the Natural Resources & Marine Waters Committee are important for the residents of Whatcom, Skagit and San Juan counties,” said Ranker. “The Committee will set the direction and flow of legislation that affects everything from recreational and commercial fishing, maritime business, and shoreline management, to land issues involving the management of our minerals, forests and state parks.”

Many of these issues, particularly the shoreline management and land use matters, also directly relate to other important economic drivers such as Real Estate and tourism.

As assistant whip, Ranker will help maintain the direction of the caucus " which means creating economic growth and jobs. Whatcom, Skagit and San Juan Counties now have a voice in Senate Democratic leadership. The 2011 legislative session will begin on Monday, Jan. 10, 2011.

Tom Bauschke
John Evans
Mary Kalbert
Ron Keeshan
Gordy Petersen
Janice Peterson
Bruce Sallan
Terra Tamai
Amy Wynn
Helpful Links
Helpful Links
RSS Feed

Let the newspaper come to you with Real Simple Syndication

RSS Version

Web design by
The Computer Place

© 2008 The Island Guardian, Inc
All Rights Reserved.

Powered By Greymatter

To learn about this newspaper
how to place a free ad
to become contributor
click below:
The Island Guardian

or email: