The Island Guardian
Locally Owned & Operated
(360)378-4900 - PO Box 38, Friday Harbor, Wa 98250
The Island Guardian is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists
xx Home | News | Business | Environment | Lifestyles | Entertainment | Columnists | Archives | Classifieds | Nag
Current news
Government News
Political News
Service Organizations
Guest Editorials
Real Estate
Weekly Nag
Weekly Nag
Letters to Editor
Letters to Editor
To Contact the Editor

Home » Archives » January 2010 » SJ Island EMS Awards

[Previous entry: "Picinich-Whitfield Engagement"] [Next entry: "FH Ace Is Coming Back"]

01/24/2010: "SJ Island EMS Awards"

San Juan Island EMS members were acknowledged with special awards at the annual EMS Banquet on January 16. The EMT of the Year Award and the Chief’s Award went to Herb Mason. Rebecca Smith was the Officer of the Year.

The Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Humberto Orozco. The physicians of the Inter Island Medical Center gave the Frank Wilson Service Beyond Self Award to Emily Hallock.

“It is a privilege to recognize these awardees for their service in 2009. They each made special contributions and extra individual efforts, beyond their regular responsibilities, to provide exemplary personalized care and emergency medical services to their fellow Islanders,” said EMS Chief Jim Cole. “We also want to acknowledge all the volunteer and career personnel and their families for their service and support. In 2009, we responded to 980 calls. Each and every member of San Juan Island EMS responded diligently, at all hours and in all conditions, to serve our residents and visitors.”

Ten San Juan Island EMS EMTs were recognized for fifteen years and more of EMS service, including Lainey Volk (25 years) and Brad Creesy (15 years).

San Juan Island EMS is the tax supported, county EMS agency serving the residents and visitors of San Juan Island, Town of Friday Harbor, Brown Island, Stuart Island, Johns Island, Speiden Island, Pearl Island and Henry Island in San Juan County, Washington. It provides emergency medical services, critical care transport, and injury and accident prevention. The staff of career paramedics and volunteer EMTs is available twenty-four hour a day.

Tom Bauschke
John Evans
Mary Kalbert
Ron Keeshan
Gordy Petersen
Janice Peterson
Bruce Sallan
Terra Tamai
Amy Wynn
Helpful Links
Helpful Links
RSS Feed

Let the newspaper come to you with Real Simple Syndication

RSS Version

Web design by
The Computer Place

© 2008 The Island Guardian, Inc
All Rights Reserved.

Powered By Greymatter

To learn about this newspaper
how to place a free ad
to become contributor
click below:
The Island Guardian

or email: