The Island Guardian
Locally Owned & Operated
(360)378-4900 - PO Box 38, Friday Harbor, Wa 98250
The Island Guardian is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists
xx Home | News | Business | Environment | Lifestyles | Entertainment | Columnists | Archives | Classifieds | Nag
Current news
Government News
Political News
Service Organizations
Guest Editorials
Real Estate
Weekly Nag
Weekly Nag
Letters to Editor
Letters to Editor
To Contact the Editor

Home » Archives » April 2009 » Youth Stewardship Award

[Previous entry: "It Is Only A Drill !!"] [Next entry: "Paideia’s Spring Social"]

04/22/2009: "Youth Stewardship Award"

ig_Julian_Glasser-1 (40k image)The Youth San Juan Stewardship Network Award was given to Julian Glasser, a senior at Orcas High School.

He is currently building bike racks for the community to use, and has created a community BikeShare program, rebuilding several bikes for that effort

Julian has been a vanguard of promoting bicycle commuting in his community by cycling the 16-mile round trip commute from his home in Olga to Orcas High School. When he first began doing this, he was the only student to arrive at the high school by bike…now there are numerous students who commute to school that way.

Julian was a member of the high school Farm Education and Sustainability for Teens (FEAST) class. He also pioneered the recycling program at Orcas High School four years ago, single-handedly taking responsibility for recycling every Friday until the program got off the ground. Last year, he converted a diesel-powered Mercedes into one which ran on vegetable oil he obtained from The Thai Sisters restaurant in Eastsound, and he is currently serving as the President of the Ecology Club.

There were Eight Good Stewardship awards presented at “Sustainable San Juans: Greening Your Home, Business and Food”, an Earthday event held Saturday in Friday Harbor. Jack and Joan Giard ; Julian Glasser; Dr. Eugene Kozloff; Peter Fisher; Bob and Pat Jester; Dr. Mike Kaill; Douglas, Joseph and Sam Bullock; and Lynn Danaher were the other award recipients; they and their photos (if available) will be featured in separate stories over the next few days.

The awards were part of a three day celebration of environmental stewardship sponsored by the San Juan Stewardship Network and the San Juan Island Community Foundation .

Tom Bauschke
John Evans
Mary Kalbert
Ron Keeshan
Gordy Petersen
Janice Peterson
Bruce Sallan
Terra Tamai
Amy Wynn
Helpful Links
Helpful Links
RSS Feed

Let the newspaper come to you with Real Simple Syndication

RSS Version

Web design by
The Computer Place

© 2008 The Island Guardian, Inc
All Rights Reserved.

Powered By Greymatter

To learn about this newspaper
how to place a free ad
to become contributor
click below:
The Island Guardian

or email: